The Happy Path

“Find out who you are, and do it on purpose” -Dolly Parton

happiness

In this busy world full of distractions, it is easy to lose touch with who we are and what we enjoy doing to make us happy. Months go by until you finally realize that you’ve neglected yourself, and you no longer remember what you enjoy.

This is your reminder: Prioritize yourself, and do what makes you happy.

Allot time every week for activities that make you feel alive.

What does this mean for me?

I LOVE to dance, and unfortunately there are fewer and fewer opportunities to dance as you mature through school, graduate, and enter the workforce. I am not looking to spend a fortune on joining a company dance class or team, and I am not looking for a huge commitment of my time [since I am always SUPER busy]. With these personal restrictions in mind, I was able to find the perfect solution to my passion for dance. ZUMBA! For a nominal fee, my gym offers hour-long Zumba dance classes every day after work.  I love these classes because they are very high energy, non-stop, interactive, and fun! It’s the perfect way to get my cardio in, while also feeling like a confident and strong woman among a group of other friendly and lively individuals. If you’re looking for a fun way to workout—look no further than Zumba!

Another way to restore and harvest confidence is by taking care of yourself. For me, this means tending to my skincare needs. For the longest time, I neglected my skin. I’d load a ton of makeup on every day, and oftentimes refuse to properly wash it all off before bed. For this reason, my skin would suffer. I would have regular breakouts and annoyingly oily skin. For the past few months, I’ve been devoting time every morning and night to engage in a multi-step face cleansing routine. I use high-end cleansers, name-brand face masks, and rich moisturizers. For something as important as your face, you can’t take the easy way out—go with the good stuff. My skin now feels healthier, and more resilient to impurities. My confidence jumps through the roof once I’ve finished with my routine, as a clean face = one happy girl.

Self-Expression has also been a major source of happiness for me. I absolutely love to write, and sometimes with a busy schedule it’s hard to make the time. I’ve been actively trying to journal nearly every day. Journaling helps me to collect my thoughts and express them in a way that is therapeutic to me. I have also just received a new guitar from my lovely boyfriend this Christmas, and I wholeheartedly can’t wait to take a crack at it and learn to express myself through music and song. Learning an instrument has always been a goal I’ve set for myself, and now I feel is as good a time as any!

Learn. I’ve always had the thirst for new knowledge. Although I’m out of school for now, I make it a priority to keep pushing my brain to learn new things. I have just subscribed to Psychology Today magazine, and I read about 1-2 self-help books per month. Most of the books I read are written by licensed Psychologists or medical doctors, who draw from published research studies to help make their points.  Keeping my brain active and sharp makes me feel proud of myself. Feeling proud of yourself is one of the easiest ways to gain self-confidence and achieve happiness.

Relax & Pamper. Lastly, I think it is important to treat yourself to a relaxing and revitalizing experience every now and again. I enjoy bubble baths—using bath bombs from Lush Cosmetics, hour-long full body massages from a local Chinese Foot Massage, a gel manicure about every 2 weeks, and a baking sesh of yummy homemade cookies. You can’t go wrong when you make your own self feel like the princess you are! Nobody in this world should treat you better than you treat yourself. So don’t be too conservative.

When you begin to discover who you are and what you love, it’s easy to find happiness from within. As long as you keep yourself feeling challenged, appreciated, and cared for, you can’t lose. When you are happy from the inside out, outside influences are less likely to disturb your peace. You are a strong and stable force that cannot be swayed by the unpredictable outside world. You are your own rock.

xx allie

Leave a Reply

