Make it Rain

march

Now that we’re settled into the New Year, and summer is on the horizon…the theme of this quarter is “Eye on the prize”. A future-oriented mindset will spur success and wealth in the coming years…and that is what we’re working towards.

Over the course of the winter months, I allowed myself to be overly generous when it came to eating a frenzy of sweets. There was little that I held back from eating, and I enjoyed every damn bite. Basically…no regrets. Although, as with most things, it’s time to achieve some balance. Since the next couple of months are free of major holidays and lead into the summer, I figured this would be a good time to focus on my health, diet, and fitness.

Although I love partaking in Zumba classes a few times a week (shout-out to the absolute best instructors Ellie & Ida), I am also beginning to focus on weight training. Last week was my first week—and MAN was I sore. Thankful for workout buddy Al–for pushing me to the limit and exploring new exercises with me! Coupled with protein shakes and focused meal planning, I am hoping to gain some muscle, slim, and tone.  Although progress is slow, my thinking is long-term. I know that with a little bit of discipline and persistence, change and improvement are sure to come. If nothing else…then at least I’m healthy!

As a byproduct of my health consciousness, I am quickly learning that grocery shopping, meal planning, and cooking can actually be pretty fun! I’ve created Faro chicken salads, chicken fajitas, and a shrimp stir fry in the last few days. Next on the list are panko breaded & baked cauliflower, parmesan zucchini, spaghetti squash Bolognese, and baked sweet potato fries. It’s a fun and healthy way to tap into my creative side and reap the benefits.

My personal initiative has been on adding a considerable amount of protein and veggies to my diet. Speaking of protein: I’ve also been very much enjoying my morning chocolate protein shake (Ben’s recipe: with frozen banana slices, a spoon of peanut butter, and almond milk)! 25 grams of protein is a great way to start off my day—and it also satisfies my morning chocolate craving!  Believe it or not, planning and cooking my own meals seems to be a money saver as well. Way less money goes to restaurants and independently owned stores. A great lil added bonus.

This leads me to my next topic. GREEN! Although March is the month of St. Patty’s Day…that’s not the only reason that green is of importance to me this month particularly. Lately I’ve been focused on saving my earnings, and even investing ($$$)! Although it’s fun to pamper yourself and spend in the moment, it’s even more fun to save for the future and build a foundation that you can be proud of. Long-term goals cannot be reached without planning and patience, but in the end you will be so glad that you held off on that pricey bathing suit you wanted, or the acrylic nails you just HAD to have. Saving gives you confidence in your future and your ability to invest in something that matters later down the road. Goals: make it rain.

Even if your goals are long-term, it’s important to be disciplined and patient in your approaches right now. If your eye is on the prize and you put the work in, it will be exciting when you’re finally able to reward yourself in the future.

Getting my ducks in a row has never felt so good. Cheers to protein & green for the month of March! What’s your eye on?

xx allie

Leave a Reply

