Must Love Peanut Butter

How To: Homemade PB Oat Snack Bars

 pb bars   

As a snack, I love to eat nutri grain or protein bars with nuts, oats, or chocolate to satisfy my cravings, sustain my appetite, and provide me with some energy (typically in the afternoon). I enjoy Lara Bars, Nature Valley Bars, Kind Bars, Fiber One bars, and more. Recently, however, I’ve been starting to get tired of my go-to choices. None of them sound particularly appealing, so I’ve set out to my make own snack bar!

Only one problem: admittedly, I’m not the best chef. That’s why I tend to look for recipes with few and simple ingredients. I came upon one recipe that seemed simple enough for even ME to succeed at.

Here’s what you need (Makes 10 Snack Bars):

1 ½ Cups of Oats

1/3 Cup of Crunchy or Smooth Natural Salted Peanut Butter

2 Tablespoons of Chia Seeds

2 Tablespoons of Honey or Agave

1/3 Cup of Chocolate chips

1 egg

Here’s what to do:

Preheat the oven to 350.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl. You may need to heat up the peanut butter in order to mix it properly (Be careful not to get it too hot, as it will melt the chocolate chips).

Place the mixture in a greased pan, and pop in the oven for 10-12 minutes!

Cool, cut, and enjoy!

Note: I store my extra bars in the refrigerator to keep them cool and fresh.

I hope you enjoy this simple and delicious treat. If you have any easy recipes to share, please comment on this post!

xx allie

Leave a Reply

