The Upside to a Debilitating Headache.

headache_0

For the last 4 days, I have had a moderately bad headache that will not let up. From the moment I wake up, to the moment I go to bed, I am plagued with a pain in the middle of my forehead that persists no matter what attempts I make. Thinking it was allergies at first, I tried Claritin-D. I also tried the homeopathic route and took some natural sinus issue pills. Neither worked to remedy the pain. Then I decided to give Tylenol a chance, again to no avail. And although Excedrin reduces the intensity of the pain, it still lingers in the background…trying hard to emerge from the smothering of the pill. Although I’ve been struggling to bear the ongoing discomfort brought about by this migraine (for lack of a better term), I have grown to appreciate the days where I feel good, with a new level of gratitude.

When you’re feeling good, you often don’t stop to think about the alternative. You don’t stop to think, “Wow how much different would I feel right now if I had been suffering from a headache for the last 4 days?”. You don’t stop to think how lucky you are, to not feel the need for ancillary pain medication. You don’t consider the blessing that’s been bestowed upon you, to be able to think clearly and effortlessly, without a daunting and miserable head bringing you down and distracting your focus.

Obviously this goes for just about any impediment. We don’t think about how lucky we are to be able to walk easily, until we break our leg. We don’t think about how easy it is to see long distance, until we start to need glasses. We don’t think about how lucky we are to be able to hear, until we meet someone who is deaf.  

I am challenging myself, and any readers, to take time every day to be mindfully grateful for something that seems inherent. Because truth be told, it’s not inherent. Just as easily as it was to be blessed, it can be just as easy to lose. We are not entitled to anything. We are all living in the same world, with all of the same vulnerabilities. Take time to notice the lucky things. Take time to revel in feeling good.

xx allie

Leave a Reply

