Popcorn & Prosecco: Rooftop Cinema Club–Los Angeles

About a month ago, I purchased tickets for my (at the time) boyfriend and I to see an older movie “Heat” with Robert De Niro and Al Pacino on an outdoor rooftop building in LA. I figured this would be a fun and trendy date night for us, and I wanted to do something nice for him.

I purchased the more expensive love seat tickets, which included a 2-person chair, blankets, pillows, endless popcorn, and a glass of wine or beer each (still only $30 per person). Unfortunately though, we broke up before we could enjoy this special night together.

As the independent and strong woman that I am, I decided I didn’t depend on him in order to go myself. I invited my best friend Ally to accompany me on this new girl date night. Although I was slightly disappointed that this night didn’t go according to plan, I was very happy to have my trusty and reliable best friend be my sidekick for the night.

rooftop cinema 7

We dressed cute, and headed out. Of course, we made a pit stop at Taco Bell before getting stuck in the all-too-expected LA traffic (UGH–why I hate LA right here). We finally made it to the destination: Level Furnished Living. This place was no joke. They only offered valet (no self-parking), which we were not informed of on the tickets or website. We ended up spending $16 to park for a few hours, but later realized that there are a ton of other, cheaper parking structures close by (note to future self). We asked the concierge what the price was to live there, and were told it costs $4,000-$6,000 per month. Holy cow.

rooftop cinema 2

rooftop cinema 6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We headed on up to the rooftop which, disappointingly, was not as high as the building was. We thought we were going to be about 30 stories high or so, but came to find we were only about 10 stories up. Sigh, first world problems.

On the bright side though, the venue was freakin’ adorable. Despite not being that high up, the view was still pretty cool. Little lights surrounded the seating area, which was full of little lawn chairs on a bed of grass. A giant movie screen was set into the side of the building, for easy movie viewing from even the back rows. We were all given individual headphones, so that we could hear the movie despite the city noises. Before sitting down, we loaded up on popcorn and prosecco. We then crammed on the tiny 2 person chair–love you Al, but that was a little too close for comfort! Unfortunately the seats were not the most comfy, and the flying bugs were a slight distraction as you tried to focus on the screen. We were less than enthusiastic about the 3 hour movie that we chose, so we decided to duck out early after an hour of watching.

rooftop cinema 5rooftop cinema 4

We then headed over to The Yardhouse for some pints of cider. Have to admit though, it was 10:30pm and I was already getting sleepy (did I mention I’m a grandma?)…so we headed home shortly thereafter…although not without hitting a ton of frustrating 11PM LA traffic.

So the question is: do I recommend going to the Rooftop Cinema Club in LA?

Yes. The venue is adorable, and perfect for a date night or girls’ night out. Take selfies and enjoy your glasses of wine & popcorn as you look out at the LA skyline.

Tips:

Don’t valet the car. Self-park in one of the nearby parking structures (walkable distance).

Know the movie you are seeing. Read reviews, see one you already know and like, or just seriously cross your fingers. Since there are more distractions outside than in a real movie theater, you really have to enjoy the movie to be invested.

Wear warm clothes. Even if it’s 90 degrees during the day, it gets much cooler at night time. Especially since you are in a shaded area, you experience wind and chills. They do provide blankets, but it’s definitely nice to come prepared.

Don’t purchase the loveseat. Honestly, even if you’re going with your “honey”, I guarantee you will both be a million times more comfy in your own individual seats. Plus! It’s cheaper that way. General admission is $19 per person. To learn more about the rooftop cinema experience and see their movie schedule click here.

Well, that’s my review. Hope you enjoyed.

 

xx allie

Leave a Reply

