Happy August!

palm springs1.jpg

Is it just me, or is 2017 flying by at cheetah pace? I honestly cannot believe that summer is already nearing its end. It seems like it just started! Am I right? While I do enjoy and appreciate the summer months, I would be remiss if I did not mention my absolute favoritism for the Fall season. Who doesn’t love the brisk October mornings, yellow/orange afternoon sky, and pumpkin spiced lattes that comprise this time of year? While I am already stoked for the transition into Fall, I am actively trying to make the most of the rest of the Summer. After all, it is my last ‘free’ month before entering into graduate school!

So let me regale you with the accounts of my summer, and the still-coming events that are to ensue:

While I was planning to take a lavish vacation to the Caribbean islands this summer, I instead decided to stay somewhat local, and save my lavish trip as a reward for completing a year of grad school. Still pending then is a Europe trip in the summer of 2018. Woo! Since I’ve already been to Ireland, England, Scotland, Spain, Portugal, France, Holland, and Italy, I decided that this trip is strictly a visit of Eastern Europe. Plan is to visit Germany, Poland, The Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, and Greece. If you have any advice or places to suggest, please comment on the blog!

Moving on…

Palm Trees

My first trip this summer was to the hot and steamy Palm Springs in Southern California. At only 3 hours from home, this spot serves as the perfect little weekend getaway. In an attempt to vacay the “right way”, we booked a high-floor room at the JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort. This resort is absolutely beautiful. Surrounded by a lovely golf course, and lines of palm trees, I swear it wasn’t even a mirage! A manmade lake also sits behind the hotel, and boats travel into the lobby! The pool was spacious and there was even a fabulous DJ, jammin’ his beats all day outside. This place isn’t exactly Vegas, but by the looks of the pool, you’d never be able to tell. The crowd was young, the girls were scantily clad, and the alcohol was flowin’. Definitely a hot spot summer destination!

icecream.jpg
Found a RiteAid…so obviously got icecream at 10AM
palm springs3.jpg
Lobby Pics with Al
palm springs4
Bathing Suit is from Andi Bagus
Al and Al.jpg
Friends who travel together, stay together 🙂

While in Palm Springs, we went to dinner one night at a restaurant called Las Casuelas Nuevas. I would argue that this may have been the best part of the trip. The food was FANTASTIC. I got chicken and shrimp fajitas…and a house margarita on the rocks! HOLY GUACAMOLE. It didn’t disappoint. The live mariachi band was exciting and enticing. They played popular music and sang songs like, “Despacito”, encouraging guests to chime in and sing/dance along. It was a lot of fun. The service could have been a bit quicker, but everything else made up for it!

palm springs2.jpg
Best Marg I’ve had

The weekend after the Palm Springs trip, I headed to Bend, Oregon for a business trip! While I must admit that this was my first trip that was not for pleasure, it sure ended up being quite pleasurable nonetheless! I was lucky to be able to visit a quaint and charming town in a beautiful state. The businessmen I worked with were fun and engaging, and we definitely had our fair share of good meals and nice talks. I am lucky to work for a company that grants me this type of opportunity. Although I didn’t get to explore much of Bend, I already know that I’ll need to visit again. This destination is packed with beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, natural rapids, and much more. We stayed at the Doubletree Hotel in Downtown Bend, which did not disappoint with their classic, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. The location was also prime, as we were literally a (less than) 5 minute walk from the downtown shops and restaurants. If you’re looking for a pretty and relaxing place to visit, look no further than Bend.

Bend1
Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Bend2

My last trip of the summer will be in San Diego, California this upcoming weekend. While it should be a low-key trip, I am looking forward to eating good food, visiting some trendy spots, doing a bit of shopping, and spending quality time with my best friends. We will be staying at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina. More to come on this trip very soon!

Well folks, that’s all that I have to share with you today. Hope you enjoyed this blog, and feel free to share some hot vacation spots you’ve visited or are visiting!

xx allie

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happy August!

  1. Hello there 😊. I just read your post and I feel it’s really good. I am so glad that you had an awesome time 😊. Thanks a lot for the post and have a happy day ahead

    Like

      • You are welcome 😊. Your blog is really awesome and inspiring. You have a great gift within you.Please continue blogging and inspire people around you 😊. And if you can please do visit my blog and let me know about it. It would be really helpful 😊. This is the link to my blog

        http:// authorabhijith.com

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

